The National Board

Trish Strachan


Responsibilities: Nominations Committee and Finance Audit and Risk Committee
Qualifications: RN. RM. Dip. App. Sc (CHN). B. Hlth. Sc (Nsg). M. (PHC).
Lives in: South Australia. Trish’s clinical background in nursing and midwifery provided her with the opportunity to live and work in all states and territories, including PNG (except for Tassie).  She has a particular interest in the health of rural and remote communities and people who are disadvantaged or vulnerable by their health, social, cultural and economic circumstances.  She has led the planning and development of health services and facilities across NSW and South Australia, with the involvement of communities, staff, and other service partners.  Trish has held senior executive positions for almost 20 years in the health and education sectors. In addition, she has chaired a number of system level, cross government forums to tackle some of the ‘wicked’ problems that face our services.  She  is currently the Chair of Playgroup SA.

Kathryn Fordyce


Responsibilities: Nominations Committee
Qualifications: B.Sp.Path (Hons), CPSP, Diploma of ECEC, MAICD
Lives in: Tasmania
Kathryn has extensive experience in not-for-profit organisations supporting autistic people in Australia and the UK. Kathryn is currently a member of the Executive Management Team at the St Giles Society, Tasmania’s leading disability and allied health provider. She has co-authored research papers on autism, early intervention and evidence-based practice and has secured in excess of $200,000 for research partnerships. Kathryn held a non-executive director role with Autism Tasmania for 5 years and is currently the Chair of Playgroup Tasmania. Kathryn is also actively involved in other committees that focus on the inclusion of people with disabilities, especially autistic children, in all aspects of education and community life.

Gloria Sherlock


Responsibilities: Finance Audit and Risk Committee
Qualifications: B.E-Commerce University of Qld (Valedictorian), Cert in Governance & Risk, MAICD
Lives in: Queensland
Gloria’s professional career spans over 20 years. Gloria experience working as an accountant, a business analyst, an e-risk consultant and a regional administration manager. Gloria has a Certificate in Governance and Risk and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Gloria has long standing community involvement including being former President of the Young Christian Workers group before being appointed to Playgroup Queensland’s Board as a director. Gloria held the Vice Chair position before commencing the role of Chair of the Board.

Laura Jeffery


Responsibilities: Finance Audit and Risk Committee
Qualifications: B.Comm, CPA
Lives in: Victoria
Laura is a qualified accountant with demonstrated success across a diverse range of roles within the world’s largest resources companies including South32 and BHP Billiton. She has recently used this experience as the springboard to build her own business, Tundra Resource Analytics. She was the Chairperson of Seagrass Early Learning, an integral component of the remote community of Groote Eylandt, NT. Laura is distinctively skilled in strategic financial management, asset life-cycle planning, stakeholder engagement, governance and project management. She is a devoted mother to two young children, and is passionate about early childhood development and community participation.

Jane Lemon


Responsibilities: Nominations Committee
Qualifications: M.Ed (ECE), Grad Cert.(Professional Inquiry), Dip. Teach (ECE).
Lives in: South Australia
Jane’s experience in children’s services and education extends across more than 40 years. She is a widely published author of many government reports and academic papers, and is a highly acclaimed and sought-after speaker on children’s services. Jane is currently the Principal Consultant of Citron Early Childhood, providing consultancy and professional development / learning to the sector in South Australia. In 2015, Jane was awarded a Public Service Medal for services to children and families in South Australia.

Annette Ruhotas


Responsibilities: Finance Audit and Risk Committee
Qualifications: B. Engineering (Civil) Hons. B. Teaching (Secondary Science) with Distinction
Lives in: New South Wales
Annette is an executive business leader with almost two decades of experience in the corporate and not-for-profit sectors in Australia, the UK and the South Pacific. She is currently the Founder and Principal Consultant of Be The Change Consulting Group, a trusted multidisciplinary consulting, advisory and coaching practice. Annette’s professional career spans executive leadership positions in corporate foundations, corporate social responsibility, corporate-charity partnerships, community development, sustainability, bid directorship, business operations, project management and construction delivery. Annette has worked for eminent organisations including Lendlease, where her most recent role was as General Manager – Social Sustainability & the Lendlease Foundation, Australia/NZ. She has also worked for a number of charitable organisations, including The Hornery Institute, Be-Onsite UK, and the Australian Youth Ambassadors for Development program. Annette is currently Chair of Playgroup NSW.